Buying a Diamond


Revised trading hours
 Monday-Saturday  9.30am-4pm

Shop 3, 284-290 Rocky Point Road
Ramsgate 2217 NSW
02 9529 9982


Due to current Covid restrictions we will be closed until WHO KNOWS??
Internet orders will be processed and posted at approximately 2.30pm DAILY
contact us on
Phone 0295299982 10am-3pm

Buying a Diamond

  • A diamond is the hardest naturally occurring material; only a diamond can scratch another diamond.
  • Diamonds are the only gemstone made of a single element; Carbon.
  • The price of a diamond is determined by "the 4 C’s”; caret, colour, clarity and cut.

When purchasing a diamond, ask to see the Certificate; this Certificate should be from an accredited Gemmological Laboratory. It defines the individual diamond's characteristics including caret, colour, clarity, cut, finish, grade and treatments.

If a diamond does not have a certificate and is expensive, ask the jeweller to get one. If the jeweller refuses, it would be very unwise to purchase that stone. Asking for and obtaining a GIA Certificate is a standard practice in the jewellery Industry for expensive items.

The Certificate, if available, should always be included with your documentation when purchasing a diamond. An insurance valuation can also be requested to be supplied.

Wholesale diamonds are priced per carat; you will pay a $ value per carat which is multiplied by the diamond carat weight. Jewellery often will have a TDW on the price tag; this describes the Total Diamond Weight of the item.

Caret = Weight: 1 carat is equal to 0.2gm; the larger the diamond the more expensive.


Colour : the second way a diamond is graded is by colour. White Diamond colour grades range from D to Z; D is colourless and the highest grade; Z is light yellow stone, and the lowest grade.


Diamonds are also available in a range of fancy colours which are very rare and valuable if un-enhanced. True fancy colour diamonds (such as yellows, pinks, and blues) are graded on a separate colour scale.

Clarity : the third way a diamond is graded is by the interior purity of the stone. Diamonds are graded from FL to I with the highest grade being FL.

Under a Microscope





Very, very slight inclusions

Very slight inclusions

Slight inclusions


Diamond clarity grades are:
FL – flawless - no inclusions or surface blemishes visible under 10 x magnification.
IF - internally flawless - no inclusions but the stone may have some surface imperfections visible under 10 x magnification.
VS1 and VS2VVS1 and VVS2 – Very Very Slight – inclusions are very difficult to see with the unaided eye.
SI1 and SI2 - slightly included - inclusions are larger and may be visible with the unaided eye.
I 1, 2 and 3 - Included – inclusions are visible to the naked eye.

Cut: the fourth way a diamond is graded is by cut, which also includes the shape. The cut of a diamond is the only quality determined by man. Cut is determined by the proportions and finish of the surface. Cut is very important to appearance; a large, clean, high colour stone, if poorly cut, can result in a diamond that has no sparkle or "life”.

Some diamonds also display a characteristic called Fluorescence.

Fluorescence –it is the glow shown when a diamond is exposed to ultra violet light, the glow can be a variety of colours. Not all diamonds have Fluorescence and it is not considered in the grading of a diamond, but can have some affect on the price. The absence or presence of Fluorescence is noted on the certificate.

For further information check the web the GIA website.

no follow